Tags

, , , , , , ,

My mother recently moved. It was something I couldn’t handle alone, so my brother took the helm.

Everyone who said they would be there weren’t, so we had to pay people. Brother promised to buy things and didn’t until day of move which held things up. He argued about what could be moved in when ect. when there were specific instructions about what and how to move into the building, but he wanted to do it ‘HIS’ way.

In other words, he was a total prick.

It’s just another experience I want to forget. But so happy Mom is happy in her apartment.

Brother still has sibling rivalry issues with me. Things I’ve never had towards him. His verbal abuse and condescending behavior towards me sent me to the hospital once during the time when my dog was dying.

I’ve come to the conclusion that, I don’t need this in my life. Despite him being my brother, he really is only a brother by birth. There is no support, there is no love, he has no empathy for me or others and he is way too judgmental. I could overlook a lot of things, but the name calling and the constant picking of arguments with me, just because I don’t agree with you, force me to just ‘forget you’.

There are times when family makes things worse and toxic relationships are better forgotten than pursued.

It’s not like I haven’t tried to mend things. He has no interest. And I would find myself thinking, ‘what have I ever done to you to make you treat me so cruel?’ And the answer is always NOTHING.

He has the problem. So I’ll let him live in it, while I’ll move forwards and enjoy the relationships I do I have within my family, which are positive.

There are times when family are the problem because they refuse to be open minded or take the time to understand your condition. You can’t waste your time banging your head against a brick wall, trying to get them to take the time or understand. You simply can’t change people.

So, you make due with what you can get from them as family and find another support system, for the mental illness. Someone to talk too and turn too when times are rough.

