Tags

,

Since I was a Child

The room was dark

The streets were bare

The rain it fell and lived out there

I found it plain

I found it dead

I wondered why there were voices in my head

I did not invite them

I made no request

I wondered if this was God’s selfish test

would I crack

Would I break

Would I direct traffic in a leather cape.

Who would save me

Who would step up

Who would accept me

And my over flowing cup

Since I was a child

The world has been dark

My dreams, my poem, my tears have been lost

Since I was a child

The world has been askew

I can not remember to whom I was talking too

If you asked me at that age, ‘what is it all about?’

I would simply smile and turn and skip about

If you asked me at that age, “are you happy, or content”

I simply would not know what ‘content’ meant.

Things aren’t so simple

Things aren’t so bright

The darkness has been within me

And now it’s come to light

I can’t skip or play or contemplate

I’ve seen too much reality

And it scares me half to death….

dih – 8/23/2012

