Tags

, , ,

Today I am thankful for my faith. I’m not hyper religious, although there was this phase in college. I keep my beliefs simple. Although I don’t go to church, I am a Christian.

And I leave it at that. I believe you can find God anywhere. That nature holds God’s love as much as his word does.

I don’t preach to other people. But there are times when my advice is based on some reading from the bible. Or simply prayer.

I pray sometimes. No great ceremony, just a silent one or two. Give thanks for my blessings and praise God whenever it crosses my mind.

My faith is something that has gotten me thru a lot in my life.

I don’t judge people based on what they believe or don’t believe. They have the right to practice whatever they wish. I just don’t like it when it hurts other people. Or they are prejudice against other religions, simply because they are different than their own.

I don’t like churches. Because of people. Even the pastor or minister or whatever. People have agendas. You go to church to worship. Not to gossip or judge or for a fashion show or pride. Too many sin or whatever six days a week and try and make up for it on Sunday. Too many hypocrites in church. I know I’m there for the Lord, but you still have to deal with the rest of the congregation.

This is an interesting blog post on The Gospel of Thomas at Oxyrhynchus. That is a picture of some of it up above.

http://povcrystal.blogspot.com/2009/10/gospel-of-thomas-at-oxyrhynchus.html

It questions the quote from a movie called Stigmata. Which is based on this quote from Thomas.

77Jesus said: I am the light that is over them all. I am the All; the All has come forth from me, and the All has attained unto me. Cleave a (piece of) wood: I am there. Raise up the stone, an ye shall find me there.

This isn’t why I don’t like churches. I don’t think this advocates the dismissal of churches. But rather that the Lord is everywhere and in everything. I can worship him, where ever I am…

And that’s why I’m thankful for my faith today.

An interesting page on Gospel of Thomas. Gospel of Thomas Commentary

