Tags

, ,

I don’t know if I’ll be able to come up with 30 days… But here’s day three.

I am thankful for the opportunity to get therapy. I realize there are many people who are unable to afford or have access to the mental health facilities that I do. And it pains me to know that so many suffer in this country from Mental Illness and are unable to get their meds, therapy or any kind of help.

I feel this is one of the reasons there are so many horrible crimes committed by the mentally ill. Which leads to stigmas that are hard to erase.

So many times you read about a schitzophernic or bipolar individual who just lost it one day. Sometimes it’s due to inadequate or non-existant treatment.

Sometimes families stand in the way of people getting help. Because they don’t want to admit or have that label attached to their family. Which leads to self medication like drugs and drinking.

Some would rather take drugs than medication. I don’t understand that rationale. One pill could help you pull your life together, but you feel that is inappropriate. But sticking a needle in your arm is ‘acceptable’ treatment for your illness???

I’m getting off track. Anyways…

I am thankful for my treatment plan for my mental illness. Bipolar is hard to live with, but I’m managing. Thanks to meds, therapy and support.

 

