Right now I’m going thru a med adjustment. I’ve been thru many. So, I know the drill. I was pretty stable on Deplin, Zoloft and Abilify. But Deplin isn’t carried by my insurance anymore, so I’ve had to find a substitute.

N-Acetylcysteine. An amino acid. This makes my first week on the stuff and it’s slowly working. It’s gonna take some time before I’ve stopped some of the crap that’s been going on in my head. The confusion, the anxiety and disjointed thinking. Some word fishing, some rapid speech and difficulty sleeping.

Psychiatry

Acetylcysteine has been shown to reduce the symptoms of both schizophrenia[21] and bipolar disorder[22] in two placebo controlled trials conducted at Melbourne University. It is thought to act via modulation of NMDA glutamate receptors or by increasing glutathione. Replicatory trials in bipolar disorder, schizophrenia and depression are underway.


[edit]

But at least I’m not in the hospital. With all that has gone on this year. It’s amazing I’m here on the computer and not on the psych ward.

I’m tired. I’ll write more later. Med time…

